Are you saying seven and no more? – Appendix B to not keeping holy days.

I think it’s easy for some to have misunderstood me in my past two articles. Although I believe that, by reading my articles and all they say, a person should see what I am an am not saying, for whatever reason someone may think that I’m condemning one thing or another. So let me be more concise and to the point.

What I’m not saying

I’m not saying it’s wrong to go beyond the seven commandments.

I’m not saying that it’s a sin to do something to mark a day as holy that God gave to the Jews in the Torah with some prayer or Torah study or have a family day out or having a nice meal.

In some ways – in some ways – I’m not deprecating the keeping of holy days if done according to what the Torah tradition permits and forbids a gentile.

I’m not saying that a gentile is trapped into only avoiding the acts prohibited by the seven commandments and that God shall strike his poor soul down if he even glimpses what may appear to be a rationally positive and logically beneficial practice or act amongst the Jewish 613, or that God will kill a gentile who does such a positive act that is not commanded.

What I am saying

I am saying that God gave all gentiles only 7 commandments or 7 categories of law, and that is wrong to believe that he commanded more of us to live at least in this life.

I am saying that the observance of holy days – Jewish or not – is not part of a gentile’s seven commandments.

I am saying that God expects from humans made in his image common decency and respectfulness even if it is not a command, to reflect one’s Creator in the way one acts privately and publicly.

I am saying that keeping holy days is not part of that expectation from God for humans to reflect his ways because we’re made in his image.

I am saying that there are important logical obligations and fences to each of the seven commandments and some important extras that don’t have the force of a divine commandment but are still important to keep.

I am saying that observing keeping the Jewish holy days is not amongst those important logical obligations and fences.

I am saying that if a gentile attempts to keep a holy day, including the Sabbath, or any other commandment, Jewish or not, as if he is obligated to do so directly by God then that act is wrong.

I am saying that if a gentile keeps a holy day in a way that is legally correct (e.g., he doesn’t keep it like a Jew does) then he does so for his own benefit, voluntarily, without obligation, and not due to commandment.

I am saying that if a gentile started to keep a holy day in a way that is legally correct and then, some time during that day he stopped and did something else for whatever reason, no sin or crime has occurred.

I am saying that if a holy day has started, and some time after it had started a gentile thought to do what was legally permitted for him to do on that day to mark it, and he does it, then again no sin or crime has occurred.

I am saying that a holy day prescribed in Torah comes and goes and the gentile did nothing whatsoever to mark it or observe it, then again, so sin or crime as occurred.

I am saying that it is my opinion that it is much more important for a gentile to know and keep the seven laws and their “ancilliaries” before looking into Jewish commandments and holy days.

I am saying that it is inconsistent for a gentile who claims to embrace the seven laws and the one who commanded those laws and then vote for a political party to govern their country or to register a vote for a candidate for leadership of an area, or elect a judge, or anything similar when that party, candidate or similar entity stands against any of the core seven laws since the seven laws are the most basic standard for life for any gentile. (Yes, I believe that most, if not all, current political parties are inadequate according to that standard.) Yes, I’m saying that is inconsistent for a gentile to strive to keep a holy day one day, and then, for example, vote Conservative or Democrat (you could use any political party or candidate in that place) the next.

And I am saying that whenever I refer to “gentile” without qualification then I referring to anyone that is not a Jew in this age where a secular non-Torah government rules in Israel, when the Temple is not standing, especially where a gentile doesn’t live in a Jewish community, nor does such a person live in a Torah observant, Temple presently standing, nation of Israel, nor has such a person gone in front of three rabbis to declare his allegiance to covenant Israel or done anything legally similar.

Again, I’m not saying you should listen to me. These are MY conclusions after my studies so far. Just study the seven laws for yourself, if possible with a rabbi who actually knows the seven laws in-depth, and then live as consistently as possible after.

Hope this clears up some ambiguity.

2 Comments

  1. Another helpful video from Jerusalem “Who Is The Real Son of G-d?” Gutman Locks YouTube Channel

    • not really relevant to the topic of the essay, but a useful link anyway

Leave a Reply

