10 years without christianity – Part 13

Hesediah: Wow, so we’re at number 13. Yes, we here at UK Noahide blog have reached our 13th episode speaking to a guy called David who rejected christianity just over 10 years ago. Are you superstitious, David?

David: Nope!

Hesediah: [pauses for a few moments] Errr … ok! Well that went dead quick. Let’s move on from there. So, David, you’ve made the choice. The switch went off in your head, and Jesus and his messiahship claim are now null and void in your mind. What then? I’ve heard stories about families rejecting a person who rejects christianity. Did your family do that to you?

David: That’s the miraculous thing. They didn’t. I mean, I see my family as my immediate relatives, my parents and siblings, at least that was my family at that time when I left christianity. They didn’t shun me. My parents did make an attempt to convince me to return, but as they didn’t have knowledge about the so-called messianic prophecies of the “old testament” there was little they could do to change my point of view. My siblings respect me enough to know that when I make serious decisions, I don’t do it lightly, so they mostly left me to it. But they always had my back. I ended up marrying a christian who was open enough to accept me despite my points of view. This was after I had left christianity but before I embraced the codification of the seven laws and all that goes with it. Through the years of our marriage, despite the differences our points of views have, we’ve still made it through loving each other.

So when it comes to the people who matter to me, my wife and my immediate family, I’ve been blessed in the way that they are open to me and we can discuss the issue we disagree on and still respect each other after. I don’t know how rare that is because I know that others have struggled with the consequences on their family relationships when they reject Jesus. But I have to thank God for the fact that my wife and immediate family have always stuck with me.

Let’s not be silly though. Of course they make it clear that they hope that I return to christianity, and I myself know that in some ways it would be easier if I went back. But I left for a reason, I’ve kept away for a reason, and those reasons still stand today untouched. I just know I can respect people with differing views, at least to an extent.

Hesediah: But how does that make sense? I’ve read some of your views about christianity on leavingjesus.wordpress.com and on your Youtube page where you went through all 300+ messianic prophecies and did another video where you call Michael Brown, a missionary, an idolator. You seem free to ridicule christianity. How can you say you respect these people, your family?

David: For me, a person and their worldview are two different things until they start to try to impose that worldview on me. So I love my wife down to the ground. She forces nothing on me. If she has something in mind, she’ll bring it up for us to discuss and we’ll talk about it, she hears my view and I hear hers and then we carry on with life as normal. The same with my immediate family, they’ll on the odd occasion bring up a concept and we’ll discuss and disagree and then get over it and get on with life. And if I have anything that I want to bring up with them, such as why one sibling accepts Jesus, or what is the scriptural basis for such a belief, I’ll bring up respectfully, we discuss and then that’s it. We know we disagree. We know that the very differences in our worldviews will allow us to believe things that will ridicule or put down the other person’s worldview. We understand that that’s just the way life goes and still try to be decent to one another. My wife, my siblings, my parents, these are people I can trust and their being christian makes them no less trustworthy. I respect where I come from and my parents raised me the best they could. But I pay no allegiance to their worldview and they have none to mine. We just accept each other as good people and move on.

The only difference is that I’m more vocal – at least where the internet is concerned – about what I see as inconsistencies in their worldview but I don’t do it to their faces. My stuff is on the web. And I use tact when dealing with my family and with other people. Every situation in life requires a different approach. So I don’t communicate with people in real life as I do on the web.

Hesediah: And what about friends since you’ve left christianity? You mention family, but did your friends stick with you?

David: I’ve never had that many friends, or at least people who I call “friend”. The people that I’ve know online and offline change frequently. I tend to remain friendly in real life so the few friends I have offline will disappear for other unrelated reasons. Right now, I’m quite short-sighted and focused on my close family so that bit of my memory regarding friends ain’t great.

Hesediah: And just a question. So you left christianity and you married a christian? How does that work?

David: I wanted a good woman. What did the label matter? I found a good woman, wife material, she had depth and wisdom to her and there are few women around me that have depth of character and wisdom. It’s rare for me to find a woman that actually likes me in that way. In fact, it’s a miracle that I even found a woman willing to love me as a husband (struggled to even get a woman who liked me in that way at all). And here I’m presented with a lady who has so many good qualities. Inside and out, she is beautiful. I’m not gonna pass that up. She’s proven her character to me, her faithfulness, wisdom, humble humanity, her forgiving nature – and where I’m concerned, that forgiving nature was more than necessary – a good heart and a great head and fantastic looking.

Would I make the same decision now about marrying her, knowing what I know about the seven laws of Noah? Hell yes! The people that are linked to my Facebook who know of her like her, and a good amount of these people accept the seven laws of Noah as well. A person who I can call “friend” who is adamant about the seven laws respects my wife totally despite my wife being a christian.

I made a damn good choice with the wife I have (of course, I wouldn’t have the choice if God didn’t bless me to meet her in the first place). I prayed about it and I thought about it and chose her and have not looked back since.

Hesediah: Thanks for that, David. I wonder what we’ll talk about next. I’ve got a few ideas.

Either way, thanks to anyone reading this for joining us. Hope you have a great day.

2 Comments

  1. searchinmyroots

    Lucky 13!
    Ah, that was just a joke, no superstitions here.

    As I may have mentioned in the past, I too have a wife who is Christian. And her whole family is as ell. Born again Christians. To tell the truth, if it wasn’t for them, I probably wouldn’t have start “searchin”. So now sometimes when we talk about things, my wife says, that was before you were Jewish, or religious. She doesn’t like the fact that I study Judaism. she thinks they teach us to hate Jesus. Well, they do in a way, not really to hate him but not to accept idolatry. She doesn’t realize we rarely speak of him at all and mostly focus on Torah and how to improve our lives. So at times it can be a “challenge”, but as you mentioned, we love each other and work around our differences.

    Isn’t that what love is really about after all?

    • Very true, that’s how love works. It can be a challenge for my wife and I too. But as with you and your wife, we choose not to let it destroy the good that we have. Believe me … actually forget that – you don’t have to believe; you already know – misinformation and misunderstanding (and deceitfulness”) is all over xtianity about what Torah (written and oral) is all about, as if Jews obsessed about Jesus as much as xtians do or just hate him, when Jesus is just irrelevant. But that you keep things going with her is commendable. I wish you all the happiness

Leave a Reply

