What’s missing from the discussion?

A friend and I were discussing some of the recent and ongoing issues amongst those non-Jews who have knowingly accepted the Seven Commandments. In that conversation, something I see as important was highlighted to me.

We were discussing the nature of taxation and government in the modern day and comparing it to the picture we get of communal life in the ancient days of Israel before they had kings. The subjects that were briefly brought up were the tithes and the role of the Levitical priests and the distribution of the tithes to the poor as well. It soon dawned on me that the way of life promoted by Torah in those days were so different to my day to day life today that the words “tax” and “government” as our modern dictionaries define them don’t fit what Israel had back then.

Discussing these things further in light of the Seven Commandments, the fact that some things deemed “taxes” today in most countries may be deemed illegal by Torah’s universal laws for humanity, it began to dawn on me that the structure of a community or nation living according to the Seven Commandments may be significantly or fundamentally different to the system we have today. That is compounded by what another friend and I were discussing about the qualifications to be a witness in a righteous court of true justice. Something has to change about the moral fibre of the people on a whole for proper courts of justice to take hold in any land. Lawyers, in the form they are today, would be more or less eradicated; and the jury system

What would the core concept of “government” look like in a righteous land or community? What would a court look like? What would change and remain the same?

You see, all of this stuff is covered under our Torah law of Dinin (yes, I said “DiniN” – nothing wrong with it; check the Talmud in the original language! Tractate Sanhedrin 56a). But it’s not something I see or hear being talked about very often, if at all.

I believe Dinin to be a neglected commandment and yet it is part of our core responsibilities as humans, something that ties us to our existence in life. I’m gonna encourage myself to see what I can find out about this law, to see what more insight it can give into the structures that may need to be in place for the successful implementation of the Seven Laws internationally.

That was just a thought I was having now. I hope you don’t mind me sharing it.

Wow, this seems like one of those rare, short blogposts. Wow!

2 Comments

  1. Hrvatski Noahid

    Hi David, I love reading your thoughts. I understand the Divine Code volume 2 will explain the Commandment of Laws and Courts. I look forward to learning it. God bless you!

    • Glad you got some benefit from it. I can’t wait for volume 2. It’s been a long time coming (even though it’s not here yet). It’ll be interesting to see what sort of information it gets and what critique it gets as well. I hope I can share in the learning experience with you. God bless you too and thanks for the comment.

Leave a Reply

