Heart sat at a distance – Is sincerity enough?

I don’t expect you to understand this, to grasp this. Part of me thinks that many who have left religions to grasp the seven laws no longer have day-to-day contact with the old faiths. But I do. I still have regular contact. Hmmm … maybe many do. I don’t know. I’m just doubtful right now.

Anyway, let me get to the point.

I watched what was supposed to be an emotive poetic expression and performance. It was about a crisis of faith, the struggles with doubt. I listened to those 6 minutes of poetry and early on I realised something.

It’s like my emotions had taken a back seat and I was analysing what this poet was saying, most notably who he had lost faith in: Yes, it was a christian concerned about his doubts in the god he worshipped, i.e., Jesus.

I’ve been there too many times. Too many times I had heard and seen the emotion and angst pouring from the mouths and bodies of sincere christians as they selflessly threw their songs and praises towards Jesus as being their god. The buckets of tears and the shouts of release directed to that man …

It’s like once I see the worship going elsewhere, away from the utterly transcendent, the Absolute Being to the experiences of flesh and blood, or anything else, then they may as well be giving that praise to Chemosh or Zeus or Baal Berith or the volcano god; my emotions grow cold as if they are on strike or protest.

Although to some it may be commendable to at least praise the sincerity that such an idol worshipper, the fervour with which they honour their fetish, too many times I’ve seen sincerity make villains out of good people, devotion make murderers out of the decent and ardour turn the wise to fool. Sincerity isn’t enough to merit praise, especially when it is a tool to cause people to mislead and delude.

But I may have it wrong. I mean, if I saw someone with an effective, powerful and well-kept saw, but later found out that they were using it for horrible cruelty or murder, especially repeated murder and continuous cruelty, then what would possess me to praise the goodness of the saw as long as it is being used in such a way?

I don’t know.

I think I’ll leave it at that.

4 Comments

  1. Hrvatski Noahid

    Of course sincerity is not enough. “There is no true recognition without thought and meditation, and true meditation brings true emotions into the heart, and proper intentions for proper actions.” (The Divine Code by Rabbi Moshe Weiner, Ask Noah International, 2011, p 94)

    I hope you will find ways to limit your contact with the old faiths. “Every person by nature is very influenced by his friends and surroundings, and by nature he is drawn after those around him, to also act in their ways. Therefore everyone must befriend good people to learn from their worthy actions, and distance themselves from bad people in order not to learn from their bad actions…” (the same, p 123, topic 6)

    • As long as my wife is part of christianity, there is no chance of contact with that religion diminishing. It’s a learning experience. As I’m associated the christians then it is what it is. They are well meaning people, quite honourable in fact. But I’m not going to learn from their idolatrous ways. I’ll do my best by God and his law.

      Thanx for the kind and wise words

  2. Jim

    David,

    Fortunately, I do not have cause to attend church anymore, but I can certainly imagine how difficult it must be to sit through a Christian worship service. To watch someone offer their devotion to a man must be troubling, on the one hand, because you want something better for the devotees, and on the other, because it is sickening to witness a false god be magnified. Being moved to compassion and disgust at the same time is difficult.

    When I was still in the Church, I had similar problems. I did not object to the worship of Jesus, obviously, but I was sometimes bothered by the disregard for truth. Certain sermons were obviously not reflected in the scriptures. They were either flights of fancy from a preacher who thought he had uncovered a hidden meaning that obviously contradicted the text, or, as was more frequently the case, the sermon was nothing more than flattery, empty words meant to inspired but carrying no meaning.

    At one such sermon, a prosperity preacher had been invited to the church that I attended at that time. I did not know him, nor that he was a prosperity preacher. The worship service had been very moving and we were all very receptive when he began speaking. Amens were flying fast and furiously, even from me. But then I realized what he was saying, and I began paying better attention. I grew silent as I listened to the message, read the scriptures to which he referred us, and analyzed their meaning. After the sermon, the pastor’s wife approached me to correct me. She said that I had hindered the flow of the holy spirit that day. I was young and rather intimidated. But I could do nothing other than say that the man was incorrect, that the NT did not promise wealth in this world and that such a message only made us feel good. I could not understand why we should go along with such obvious wrong preaching. Needless to say, I was not heeded but warned not to stop the work of God. In a place charged with emotion, I could not help but to contemplate whether or not the message was true or false.

    I can see that it would be hard to continue to watch people emotionally charged up over a false god. And I only tell you this short story to let you know that I emphathize with you and to some small degree understand the difficulty. I respect deeply your attachment to truth.

    Jim

    • Thanks, Jim. It is a comfort to know that someone understands. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

