Modern Israel: From Egypt to Egypt

I saw someone who loves the modern state of Israel, seeing it as a beacon in a benighted Middle East, describe it thusly.

A democracy with civil rights for all, sexual equality, freedom of expression, freedom of faith. 

Now I know that many with modern Western sensibilities will see such a description and praise it, raise it as a light, proudly boast of such a society. (I know that others ignorant of the stance of modern Israel will see as some sort of apartheid state, but I won’t dwell on ignorance, no matter how popular.)

But those who read this article may already guess where I’m going, knowing I’m more of a purist when it comes to principle, but let me just make myself as clear as I can, a bit more explicit.

When I see such a description of the modern state of Israel, I don’t see “Israel,” the nation God established at Mt. Sinai. Rather, I see modern America or Britain or maybe even ancient Egypt or Babylon. I don’t see something to praise but something to be aghast at, something that I would take for a travesty.

Oh, what are the principles I adopt, I hear you ask? Well, you may not have asked, but at least the guy I’m talking to in my head asked so I may as well answer. Why, the seven laws of Noah! I’ve got some others, like the primacy of Torah law as it applies to both Jew and Gentile, the principle that God gave the land of Israel to the Jews/Israelites based on the Jewish Bible and Torah tradition. 

So what do I see when I see such a description of the modern state of Israel?

“A democracy …” A land ruled not by Torah, but by majority opinion, where the minority are ruled irresponsibly by the majority. So if enough of this modern state was Arab who wanted an end to the modern state of Israel, they could simply vote it out of existence.

“civil rights for all …” Greek and Roman philosophy focused on rights whereas Torah focuses on obligations. The “rights” mentality, the mentality of what is owed to me, what I can beg others (the government) for, can be classed as the mentality of slaves, pointing to oneself. The Torah deals with the opposite direction, that of giving, one’s obligations to God, to others and to oneself.

“sexual equality …” See, people are gonna think I’m weird for … Oh, wait! They’d think I’m weird already. Let me carry on. What I was going to say is that I’m not sure about this at all. A definition of sexual equality is the state in which access to rights or opportunities is unaffected by gender. But there are roles in the Jewish Torah economy where men can have a role but women can’t. I mean, men and women are equal in the way that they are both human, but equality in opportunity? I don’t think so. Men and women are not the same. 

Again sexual equality just seems like “the fad of the day,” rather than an ideal. 

“Freedom of expression …” This looks like an americanism. The amendments to the American “sacred” piece of paper (constitution) include the idea that humans have a “right” to freedom of speech or expression. It’s a vague idea that has found its way into different listings of supposed human “rights.” I’ll deal with this literally and not loosely.

So freedom of expression is not a Torah idea or ideal. If it was, there wouldn’t be laws against verbally cursing God, against tale-bearing, regarding lashon hara, etc. The deep wisdom of Torah reveals that human speech is a source of great trouble. 

But people want to be left alone to say whatever they want, even to wish harm on God. As you can guess, I don’t side with that.

And then, with the loose understanding of freedom of expression,  that would say it’s ok for men to express themselves by dressing as women and vice versa. And that’s just one case of this “freedom of expression.” Yet it’s anti-Torah-law for Jews, for real Israel. 

I’ve seen apparently observant Jews praise the fact that homosexuals exist in comfort in the modern state of Israel in comparison with the Arab countries round about. Allow me to attempt to destroy any good opinion about myself. I prefer faithfulness to standards and principles than sloppiness for the sake of so called tolerance and acceptance from others. If homosexual acts are forbidden according to Torah law, then praising the freedom and comfort of homosexuals in the “Holy Land” seems a betrayal of one’s standards. I don’t respect that.

“freedom of faith …” Let me be blunt. This is freedom to commit idolatry, plain and simple. It’s freedom to worship any god other than and as well as the one true God. The true nation of Israel as based on fidelity to the one true God and the modern state of Israel protects idolators and idolatry. Do I really need to go any further into this?

Despite my criticisms, I would still much prefer to have a Jewish state than not to. It’s a miracle that it even came into being after several thousand years of Jewish exile.

But that doesn’t remove the fact that the modern state of Israel and closer in policy and praise to ancient Egypt than Torah Israel.

Pesach or Passover is a celebration of God’s deliverance of the Israelites from Egypt. It is on this date fourteen years ago that God helped me escape christianity and faith in Jesus. Even as a non-Jew uninterested in becoming a Jew, I pray for the future deliverance of Israel from the “little America,” or “little Rome” that it currently is.

4 Comments

  1. Hrvatski Noahid

    I agree with you. We believe in the God of Israel. We do not believe in democracy, equality, rights and freedoms.

    • At least we don’t accept these things without the wisdom of God’s Torah

  2. Excellent article.

Leave a Reply

