Categories
Politics Social commentary

No one’s above the law

I’ve been in debates with certain christians for a period of time. They all preach the divinity of Jesus, that he is God in the flesh. It amazes me that the claim of him being messiah is not their main emphasis but his divinity.

It brings to mind the third of the seven laws for humanity according to the Talmudic ordering of them, the prohibition against illegal worship, strange worship, the divine service given to entities other than the one true God. How humans tend to elevate creation and the creature to the point where it stands high above what it really is indicates the drive within people to be subservient to someone else whilst making that master of a similar nature in some way to the person, the subject.

Some of these forms of idolatry are more obvious in their form of self-worship than others. Sometimes an idol will look just like a man and other times it seems to represent a force or an aspect of nature. But I believe that normally the god made from the idolator’s hands or mind is usually tied to some aspect of nature, of the idolator. And because this worship is a product of the mind of the worshipper, then there is an aspect of self-worship in the idolatry.

The subservience given to the state, to government, is the result of such elevation. Factually, the government is just a bunch of humans or a manmade institution run by humans. There is no such thing, in reality, as government authority since there is no basis for such authority, especially in modern days where those in government claim to get their authority from other people, other people who have no such authority to give to anyone, much less a government. So the people of government having no real authority rely on threat, deceptive tactics, bullying tactics, the gullibility and mental laziness of the majority, and that human drive to be subservient (and drive for worship/idolatry) to create the illusion of authority.

In what is essentially a state-cult, what exactly is law? People are likely to come up with fanciful descriptions based on the cult indoctrination. “Law is a governing principle of a population.” “Law is the rule of conducted set down by an authority.” “Laws is a set of rules that are created and are enforceable by social or governmental institutions to regulate behaviour.” And it is seen how the plebs of society view such rules when they condemn those who break them. A person who doesn’t wear a seatbelt when driving is necessarily irresponsible regardless of how well he drives. Driving without a license is seen as immoral. Those who have sex with those under the age set by government is called a pedophile and seen as disgusting and morally reprehensible, even if that age is set at 18 or 21. If a person is convicted of any breaking a law, almost any law, and thus is labelled “criminal” is seen as untrustworthy, even when people are ignorant of what law was broken. And why? Because the law was broken and that somehow is automatically linked with morality as if the two are linked. And I’ve only given a small sample.

In the midst of all this, there is the phrase that is promulgated by the politician and repeated by the cult members that make up the majority of the population: no one is above the law. This is given the appearance as if it is absolute, true for even the political class itself, although reality tells a different story with those in the political class (including their arm of force, the police) usually allowed to do what is considered a crime with no real penalty, to the point of killing others. Yet the mantra is still muttered in the mouths and hearts of the mindless mob.

But, in the human world, what is law on a factual basis? At its core, regardless of elevation, what must law be? And those who elevate it may choke on this simplicity. Human law is merely a recorded opinion, nothing more. It is the utterance of a human or a bunch of them. Even when it’s attached to a threat of violence, its origin is still the human mind and mouth. It is special in that it comes from a government member (another human with an empty title and no real authority). That alone can tell you about its real nature and how it has been elevated and idolised.

Remember, I’m not talking about morality or divine law, since the nature of morality is beyond and outside of law, and the source of divine law is wholly different, so its nature and effects are different.

So when the declaration is made that no one is above the law, what is really being said? That there is a human opinion above all others. And how did it get there? By threat. There is nothing else really to it. And this is why the phrase rings hollow to those for whom there is no real threat and to those who know the nature of human law.

For those for whom there is no real threat, they can laugh when saying those words. When this opinion, this “law,” is contradicted by them, life goes on as usual. Who exactly is coming for them?

Think about it. What good is human opinion, even when the threat is attached to it, when a person stands outside the reach of the human limitations? There is no universality to such human opinion or utterance. It doesn’t change the nature of reality. If a blind politician makes a law not to hold up the middle finger to him, in opposition to him, and someone does that to him, in his face, with no witness, then the law is dead. If there is a law not to run a red light, and someone does that very thing with no witness, or even a witness who cares about this law, nothing has happened. Nothing will happen. It would seem that there is much above human law. If there is a law about underage sex and such activities goes on behind closed doors, away from prying eyes, the limited nature of human law is laid bare.

So the phrase “no one is above the law” as it applies to human law is delusional. It is utterly stupid. Just thinking about what law is makes this conclusion apparent. When innocent people are convicted of crimes, when judges and police twist law to make unjust decisions, when the perpetrators of most violent crimes are not discovered or prosecuted by those law enforcement, when politicians can kill a whole slew of people through wars and by setting their dogs (the army, which includes the police) on people via their dictates and the slavishness of the dogs, I don’t know how any rational person can take the phrase “no one is above the law” with any seriousness. It is just another philosophical idol bereft of power. But I think that’s the problem in society: the lack of rationality.

To conclude, idolatry and injustice is rife in the world I experience. Idolatry, the elevation of creation above what it really is, that is as common as muck, ubiquitous, even amongst God-fearers.

I can’t say much more than that.

By hesedyahu

I'm a gentile living in UK, a person who has chosen to take upon himself the responsibility God has given to all gentiles. God is the greatest aspect of my life and He has blessed me with a family.

I used to be a christian, but I learnt the errors of my ways.

I love music. I love to play it on the instruments I can play, I love to close my eyes and feel the groove of it. I could call myself a singer and a songwriter ... And that would be accurate.

What else is there?

4 replies on “No one’s above the law”

For Jews, it’s forbidden to pronounce the name of God YHWH.
I see that you have translated the Name as ‘the Eternal’ before. What do you think regarding a non-Jew pronouncing the name?
Some offer their version of how they think the name is pronounced.

I don’t use any “version.” I’m not sure about any. The Hebrew text provides no clue as to the pronunciation and since it is so highly honoured I’m not going to play with guesses or invest one as THE true pronunciation. One blessing of being a Gentile is that I don’t natively speak Hebrew, but there are plenty of titles and descriptors I can use for who I refer to as the one true God. God gave me no command to say a special name although I’m blessed to see the Hebrew letters and recognise each one.

So to summarise, I’m not invested in any guesses or “scholarly reconstructions.” I don’t need it to connect my language with the truth of Deity. There’s none of the seven laws I can use to condemn another Gentile for getting stuck on one of these attempts.

This blog has always been a part of my journey to truth, since I started look into what fools call “conspiracy theories” — I guess I mean that which has been lied or obfuscated about by the government and media. But at first I had the “anger response,” hurling insults at what I later discovered to be the truth.
So how did you go from a geocentric globe to a geocentric flat surface? This is the blog that led me to my current position of flat earth. What was the exact thing that convinced you that the earth is flat?
I appreciate that you engage with my comments.

There were three steps that I can make more concrete. As with when I rejected Jesus, the first step was the question “why do I hold that the earth is a globe?” That was generated by seeing some flat earth content and then considering what facts I had for my position. Then, thanks in particular to Nathan Oakley and his crew, especially Quantum Eraser, I learned about logical fallacies and the scientific method. When I looked for the evidences for my globe position and held them against logic and looking for cause-and-effect relationships, I found that there was no science to the globe and all the arguments that were within my reach to verify or that were put forward for the globe were fallacious. So that made me reject the globe idea.

So I returned to my sensory experience and looked at what I knew, like the behaviour surface of significant bodies of water, what I myself have seen and not seen. Based on that, except for hills and valleys, I concluded that, as far as I experience, the earth is relatively flat with roughness to it, like rolling your hand over a rough plank of wood, which generally flat, but you feel the unevenness.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.